This is Hampshire | CommuniGate | Titchfield History Society Feedback
This is Hampshire -  CommuniGate
*
Content * * *
Welcome

Committee

Reviews of recent THS meetings

A Short History of Titchfield

The Titchfield Tapestry

Forthcoming Meetings

History from the Post

THS Bookshop

THS Contact Information

Henry Cort

How to Find History

The Lowdown on Titchfield

Editorial

Titchfield Families

Our Industrial Past

Where are the chimney pots?

Titchfield Market Hall

Titchfield Canal Debate

Links for Titchfield History Society

Message Board

Guestbook

Mail Form

*

Village Origins

The 'Square' in Titchfield

The village of Titchfield lies between the cities Southampton and Portsmouth on the South Coast of England.

Few English villages or small towns have as rich and varied a history as Titchfield. Important palaeolithic remains; the oldest standing piece of ecclesiastic architecture in Hampshire; the site of a famous monastic library; a handsome late medieval barn; buildings associated with our greatest dramatist; one of the earliest known canals; and the remains of one of the best known industrial developments of the eighteenth century are some of its features.

Here rested Henry V before Agincourt and Charles I before his imprisonment at Carisbrook. And in our village, in spite of the suburbanisation creeping over the hillsides to east and west, the village and its people have retained the quirky, robust individuality which once made them less than respectful tenants of their medieval landlord.





The Domesday Book

Titchfield was a thriving market village in medieval times as is shown by this extract from the Doomsday Book...

"The King holds TICEFELLE. It is a berewick, and belongs to MENESTOCHES. King Edward held it. There are 2 hides; but they have not paid geld. (There) is land for 15 ploughs. In (the) demesne (there are) but 2 oxen (animalia), and (there are) 16 villeins and 13 borders with 9 ploughs. There are 4 serfs, and a mill worth 20 shillings. The market and toll (are worth) 40 shillings."

Titchfield Abbey

When the Abbey was founded in 1231 for the White Canons by Peter des Roches, the Bishop of Winchester it became the central focus of the community. Fishers Hill, Segensworth Road and Bridge Street were the early access routes. Henry V stayed here n 1415 while his invasion fleet was being assembled. His son, Henry VI, was married in the Abbey to Margaret of Anjou in 1445. At the dissolution of the monasteries by Henry VIII the Abbey passed into the possession of Sir Thomas Wriothesley, the first Earl of Southampton. He demolished most of the building and built Place House, "a right stately home embattled".
The Third Earl was the friend and patron of Shakespeare and it is believed, but not proved, that Shakespeare stayed in the Place House. Local legend maintains that Romeo and Juliet was performed here.

The fourth and last Earl gave shelter to Charles I on his flight to the Isle of Wight. Unfortunately the fourth Earl had no sons and on his death the estate was divided among his daughters. In 1781 Place House was bought by Peter Delme, Member of Parliament for Southampton. The house beacme unfashionable so his decendents had most of it dismantled and the materials used to enhance Cams Hall, the new family home in Fareham.

The Carnival

Titchfield boast the oldest, biggest and best carnival in Hampshire. The annual event which is organised by the Bonfire Boys Society began, in its present form from 1880. There is a strong local tradition that the first Carnivals featured the burning of an effigy of the Earl of Southampton who employed Richard Talbottes to dam the river Meon. It was built in 1611 and prevented large craft from entering the river and making their way to the village. The people were upset at being denied free passage with the Solent. He also constructed what is thought to be Britain's second only canal, which can still be seen leading from Titchfield Mill to Hill Head.

The Carnival is still held every year on the last Monday in October and draws thousands of visitors to the afternoon and evening processions.

Email Email page
Feedback Feedback
Home Home


Welcome |Committee |Reviews of recent THS meetings |A Short History of Titchfield |The Titchfield Tapestry |Forthcoming Meetings |History from the Post |THS Bookshop |THS Contact Information |Henry Cort |How to Find History |The Lowdown on Titchfield |Editorial |Titchfield Families |Our Industrial Past |Where are the chimney pots? |Titchfield Market Hall |Titchfield Canal Debate |Links for Titchfield History Society |Message Board |Guestbook |Mail Form