Blackburn netball league
Fixtures and Results - Division 1
Fixtures and Results - Division 2
Fixtures and Results - Division 3
Fixtures and Results - Division 4
Umpires - availability, contacts etc
2006 season - results
Rules of netball - summary and comments
League rules / fines etc
All things netball
Other netball leagues
Farley's netball tournament
Umpires - availablity and umpiring Matrix
Links for Blackburn and District Netball League
Netball rules - summary and comments
Here is a summary of the rules of netball, with umpires comments. For a full copy of the IFNA rules please see the link below where a rule book can be purchased online.
Out of court rule
OUT OF COURT
When is the ball out of court?
1 - If it touches the ground outside the Court;
2 - If it touches an object or person in contact with the ground outside the Court
3 - If it is held by a player in contact with the ground, an object or a person outside the Court
What if the ball hits the goalpost?
If the ball hits any part of the goalpost and rebounds back into play it is not out of court and play continues.
The base holding the goalpost that is on the ground out of the Court is deemed as out of court if the ball hits it and rebounds back into play. The base holding the goalpost that is touching the line is deemed as in court.
If the ball is out of court the umpire would….Award a throw in to the team opposing the one who last had contact with the ball, to be taken where the ball crossed the line
When is a player out of court?
If at any time of touching or receiving the ball any part of that player is touching the ground, an object or person outside the court
A player having no contact with the ball may stand or move out of court but, before playing the ball, the player must re-enter the court and no longer have contact with the ground out of court.
If a player was out of court when playing the ball an umpire would…
Award a Penalty Pass/Shot to the opposing team where the infringer was standing
- For example, if a player goes off Court round the back of the post to gain a better playing position, jumps back onto court and whilst in air, makes contact with the ball, it is deemed to be out of Court as the player’s feet were last touching the ground off court.
Q. In an effort to keep the ball in play a player jumps from a position on court and knocks the ball back into play before either she or the ball makes contact with the ground, an object or person in contact with the ground outside the court, does play continue.
A. Yes. The rule clearly states that a player is only out of Court, if at any time of touching or receiving the ball any part of that player is touching the ground, an object or person outside the court and as she jumped from an on court position and plays the ball before she makes contact with the ground outside the court then play continues
What about players who leave the court to retrieve a ball or to take a throw in?
A player who has left the court to retrieve a ball or to take a Throw In must be permitted direct re-entry to the court.
If a player was not permitted direct re-entry to the court an umpire would…..Award a throw in to the opposing team, at the point where the player was out of Court
- Remember that if player 1 goes to retrieve the ball, throws it to player 2 who is taking the throw in, player 2 must delay taking up the correct position for the throw until player 1 is back on court. If this is not done, the penalty above applies, but if it is felt that player 1 is deliberately delaying play then she must be penalised by advancing the throw in by approx 10 feet
What if two players catch the ball simultaneously and one player lands out of court?
A toss up is taken on court between the two players concerned, where the incidence occurred.
What if a player leaves the court for no valid reason?
A player who goes out of Court for no valid reason may not enter the game while play is in progress but, after notifying the Umpire, may take the Court:-
(i) immediately after a goal has been scored
(ii) at a stoppage for injury or illness
(iii) immediately following an interval
If this happened an umpire would….award a free pass to the opposing team where the ball was when play was stopped. The player concerned must leave the Court until the next goal is scored or until the next interval
When is a player offside?
When she is with or without the ball and enters an area other than the playing area she is allowed in. She can reach over and take the ball/lean on the ball from/in an offside area
If a player is offside an umpire would... award a free pass to the opposing team where the infringement occured, or play advantage
What if two players go offside together?
If two opposing players simultaneously go offside and neither of them have made contact with the ball they are not penalised and play carries on
If one or both of them is touching or holding the ball an umpire would... award a toss up between those two players in their own area of play
However, if one player who is allowed only in the goal third goes offside into centre third, and simultaneously an opposing player who is only allowed in the centre third goes offside into the goal third and one or both in contact with the ball an umpire would...award a toss up in the centre third between any two opposing players allowed in that area.
Why do i sometimes see a player go offside and no whistle is blown?
If a player goes offside and the umpire decides that play is in favour of the opposing team, the umpire could call "advantage offside" but choose not to stop and disrupt play.
The ball is in the red GS hands and the red C goes offside into the shooting circle. An umpire would blow the whistle and award a free pass to blue just inside the circle where the red C was.
The ball is in the red GS hands and the blue C goes offside into the shooting circle. An umpire could call advantage to note that she had seen the blue player but as shooting was about to start in the red teams favour, play carries on – alternatively an umpire would award a free pass ( NOT A PENALTY PASS OR SHOT) just inside the goal circle to red.
Repossession/replaying the ball
Repossession / replaying the ball AKA “Butterfingers”
A player can do the following :
- catch the ball with one or both hands
- gain or regain control of the ball if it rebounds from the goalpost
- bat or bounce the ball to another player without first having possession of it
- tip the ball in an uncontrolled manner once or more than once and then either catch the ball or direct the ball to another player
- having batted the ball once, either catch the ball or direct the ball to another player
- having bounced the ball once, either catch the ball or direct the ball to another player
- roll the ball to oneself to gain possession
- fall while holding the ball, but must regain footing and throw within 3 seconds of receiving the ball
-lean on the ball to prevent going offside
-lean on the ball to gain balance
- jump from a position in contact with the court and play the ball, provided that neither the player nor the ball make contact with the ground, or any object or person outside the court while the ball is being played ( see out of court rule)
A player cannot do the following:
- strike the ball with a fist
- fall on the ball to gain possession
- attempt to gain possession of the ball while lying, sitting or kneeling on the ground
- throw the ball whilst lying, sitting or kneeling on the ground
- bounce/bat the ball more than once before catching or directing as above
A player who has caught or held the ball cannot:
- roll the ball to another player
- throw the ball and play it before it has been touched by another player
- toss the ball into the air and replay it
- drop the ball and replay it
- bounce the ball and replay it
- replay the ball after an unsuccessful shot at goal unless it has touched some part of the goalpost ( provided not out of court)
If a player was repossessing the ball or playing the ball incorrectly an umpire would… award a free pass to the opposing team where the infringement occurred
Q. A red player bangs into a red player who is in possession of the ball causing her to drop it. She picks it back up, then throws it. What happens?
A. This is repossession and a free pass would be awarded.
Q. If a player bounces the ball twice in an effort to gain control then picks the ball up or redirects to another play, is this repossession or replaying the ball.
A. It is replaying the ball and a free pass would be awarded
Q. A blue player bangs into a red player who is in possession of the ball causing her to drop it. She picks it back up, then throws it. What happens?
A. The blue player has contacted the red player and a penalty pass/shot would be awarded to the red player
Q. The ball hits my arm then I catch it, and throw it. Is this replaying?
A. The umpire makes a decision as to whether you were in a position to have played the ball before you catch it again and throw it. If you were controlling the ball with your arm, then catching and throwing it would be replaying.
Q. What if I didn’t think I had control of the ball in the first place? ( AKA “butterfingers”)
A. This rule is not about control of the ball, as that is subjective. It is about whether you are deemed as reasonably being able to have played the ball in the first place.
3 second rule
After catching the ball a players must play it or shoot it within 3 seconds.
This page has been visited times.