This is The North East | CommuniGate | A B C of Football Tradition in South Bank Feedback
This is The North East -  CommuniGate
Content * * *
The Ellis Cup

Achievements after they played in the Ellis

Details of the noteable local clubs.

Ellis Cup Volume One

Ellis Cup Volume Two

Ellis Cup Volume Three

Ellis Cup Volume Four

Ellis Cup Volume Five

Ellis Cup Volume Six

The Match reports including 2010 Cup Final

The South Bank & District Football League

One hundred and eighty noteable local players of yesteryears

South Bank Football Club

Wilf Mannion

George Hardwick

Harold Shepherdson

Brian Clough

Winners 1999

Winners 2000

Winners 2001

Winners 2002

Winners 2003

Winners 2004

Winners 2005

Winners 2006

Winners 2007

Winners 2008

Winners 2009

Winners 2010

Winners 1998

South Bank East End

South Bank Casuals

South Bank St Peters

Eston United

Normanby Magnesite

Grangetown St Marys

Smiths Dock FC

Grangetown St Matthews

The 2011 Competition



In the Ellis Cup Final on Sunday 15th August 2010 Grangetown Boys Club v North Ormesby Institute competed for this covetted trophy in the 113th Final.

In a high tempo game with to very committed teams North Ormesby had the better of the opening stages with their power play pinning back Grangetown the Boys Club defense was stretched at times with good defensive work by Alan Shepherd and keeper Graeme Willey keeping them on level terms. Lee Seed was a lone striker the Tute had to be wary of his pace on the counter. The Tute opened the scoring after 14 minutes through Adam Abdi this was followed by a well worked goal by Dave Howe on 20 minutes. Boys Club went close with a header by Shepherd from a corner then an effort by Seed went close. Tute stepped up the pressure and scored a third by Damian Gee his pace had troubled the Boys Club throughout the first half. Half time 3-0.

With Michael Joseph and Louis Smith commanding at the back for the Tute and at times were almost spectators Tute relaxed and allowed Stephen Cochrane and Glen Wesson to come into the game and for a while the Boys club looked likely to stage a fight back despite scoring a cracking long range shot probably the goal of the game by Andrew Doddy after good work by Wesson. It was man of the match Damian Gee with the fourth goal for Tute that finished off the Boys club final score 4-1.

A well deserved victory for North Ormesby Institute. They now join the triple winners ranks after winning the cup in 1952, 2008 and 2010. The game was well handled by referee Kevan Howe in front of a crowd of one hundred and sixty two were well entertained.

Damian Gee (North Ormesby Institute) received the George Hardwick man of the match award.

Lee Seed (Grangetown Boys Club) collected the competitions Brian Clough Top Scorer award.

Doug Reed received the Harold Shepherdson Ellis Cup Community Award.

The winners of the Wilf Mannion Memorial Ellis Cup Final North Ormesby Institute received the Ellis Cup from guest Radio Tees "Talksport" presenter Alastair Brownlee.

This page has been visited times.

Email Email page
Feedback Feedback
Home Home

The Ellis Cup |Achievements after they played in the Ellis |Details of the noteable local clubs. |Ellis Cup Volume One |Ellis Cup Volume Two |Ellis Cup Volume Three |Ellis Cup Volume Four |Ellis Cup Volume Five |Ellis Cup Volume Six |The Match reports including 2010 Cup Final |The South Bank & District Football League |One hundred and eighty noteable local players of yesteryears |South Bank Football Club |Wilf Mannion |George Hardwick |Harold Shepherdson |Brian Clough |Winners 1999 |Winners 2000 |Winners 2001 |Winners 2002 |Winners 2003 |Winners 2004 |Winners 2005 |Winners 2006 |Winners 2007 |Winners 2008 |Winners 2009 |Winners 2010 |Winners 1998 |South Bank East End |South Bank Casuals |South Bank St Peters |Eston United |Normanby Magnesite |Grangetown St Marys |Smiths Dock FC |Grangetown St Matthews |The 2011 Competition